LACA: the Libraries and Archives Copyright Alliance

The Libraries and Archives Copyright Alliance (LACA) lobbies in the UK and Europe about copyright and related rights on behalf of its member organisations and UK users of copyright works through library, archive and information services.

Mission statement and key objectives

CILIP and the Libraries and Archives Copyright Alliance (LACA) advocate a fair and balanced copyright framework which respects the rights of copyright holders whilst placing equal value on the importance of users' liberties.

In particular, LACA's aims are:

  • To be active and effective in promoting, advocating and lobbying on behalf of our members.
  • To raise and maintain awareness about copyright and licensing in the library, archive and information sectors.
  • To work with colleagues internationally to bring about a harmonised legislative framework, effective for the digital age, that facilitates cross-border working.
  • To collaborate with the UK's education and cultural heritage sector to encourage a joined-up approach.

LACA is a member of Copyright for Creativity, a broad-based initiative of European civil society, libraries, industry and creators that seeks an informed debate on how copyright can more effectively support innovation, access and creativity for all Europeans.

LACA collaborates closely with IFLA: the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions and EBLIDA: the European Bureau of Library, Information and Documentation Associations on copyright issues.

LACA's constitution

LACA's constitution was last revised in June 2014.  A copy can be downloaded from this page.

Contact LACA

LACA: the Libraries and Archives Copyright Alliance
C/O CILIP 7 Ridgmount Street
London WC1E 7AE
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7255 0500
Fax: +44 (0) 20 7255 0501

Follow @UKLACA on Twitter

LACA members

  • Chair: Fred Saunderson
  • Vice-Chair: Barbara Stratton
  • Secretary: Yvonne Morris
  • CILIP staff contacts: Guy Daines, Yvonne Morris
  • ARA: the Archives & Records Association: Tim Padfield
  • ARLIS/UK & Ireland: Katie Hambrook
  • British Film Institute (BFI): Annie Shaw
  • The British and Irish Association of Law Librarians (BIALL) : Chris Holland 
  • The British Library: Ben White
  • CILIP: Aude Charillon (public libraries)
  • HearFirst UK: Ruth MacMullen
  • IAML UK & Irleland: Claire Kidwell
  • LIS-COPYSEEK online community: Emily Stannard
  • Museum Libraries: Nancy Chillingworth
  • The National Archives: Judy Nokes and James Lafferty
  • NHS Scotland: Charles Oppenheim
  • The National Library of Scotland: Fred Saunderson
  • The National Library of Wales: Dafydd Tudur
  • National Records of Scotland: Susan Corrigall
  • Research Libraries UK (RLUK): Fiona Bradley
  • The Scottish Council on Archives: Victoria Stobo
  • Share the Vision: Christine Ronaldson
  • Society of Chief Librarians (SCL): Mark Freeman
  • SCONUL: Amanda Barson
  • Universities UK: Samuel Roseveare
  • Wellcome Trust: Christy Henshaw
  • Copyright experts: Barbara Stratton (International Spokesperson), Ronan Deazley, Jane Secker, Naomi Korn
  • Corresponding members: Toby Bainton; Graham Cornish;  Mike Heaney; Graham Coult; Paul Pedley